Greek Scholar Bill Mounce: Textual Criticism 101

Greek scholar Bill Mounce, author of The Basics of Biblical Greek (Zondervan, second edition 2003), discussed John 5:4 on his blog today.  His discussion of that text included a basic explanation of what textual criticism is and why it is necessary.

Go over and check out his post, and let us know what you think.  I agree with his concluding assessment:

But God in his sovereign love made sure that the differences among the manuscripts would not hinder our faith.

  • About 5% of the Greek text is in question
  • No major doctrine is brought into question by 5%.

You can trust your Bible!

Read the whole post.  (HT: Jason Skipper)

2 thoughts on “Greek Scholar Bill Mounce: Textual Criticism 101

  1. letusfollowhim March 16, 2010 / 10:20 pm

    I like this idea for a blog! I did a series on kjo a few months ago on my blog… I went to PCC for a year so really hits home with me.

    • fundyreformed March 17, 2010 / 12:56 pm

      Glad you appreciate the blog. Thanks for checking us out. We hope you’ll subscribe and check in from time to time.

      Bob

Comments are closed.